Collie Buddz ‘Hybrid’ album review | Top Shelf Reggae

That sweet, smooth, sexy voice is back! With two years between albums and after months of teasing excited fans by dropping singles, Bermudian reggae singer Collie Buddz has finally released his tantalizing third full-length album Hybrid on May 24th. The follow-up to his 2017 Good Life, this self-produced, written and recorded 10-track album is a perfect blend of Buddz-familiar bold reggae sound, like the track “Love & Reggae” that was released last summer. Collie Buddz stays true to his beliefs while addressing the legalizing of marijuana on the track “Legal Now”, a remix of his 2007 weed smoking anthem “Come Around”. The uplifting track “Everything Blessed” with Tech N9ne adds a rap element to the album, while additional collaborations with Russ, B Young, Ghanaian GRAMMY-nominated singer Stonebwoy and Johnny Cosmic (of Stick Figure) help add new sounds and richness to the album.

The sound of the entire record is purely reflective of Collie Buddz's deep reggae roots combined with his love of different music styles.

The first track on the album “Bank”, featuring B Young and Russ, represents Buddz hip hop influences; you can further feel the Afrobeat brought in by his collaboration with Stonebwoy on the track “Bounce It”. B Young is one of Buddz's favorite artists at the moment and thought he was what was needed for the track. When Russ came to record at Buddz's studio in Oakland, he was played a few tracks off the new album. Immediately upon hearing it, Russ wrote a verse. The sound of the entire record is purely reflective of Collie Buddz's deep reggae roots combined with his love of different music styles. Having produced the album himself, it feels as if there was room for Collie Buddz to explore and show his natural instinct to music, along with the rawness of his lyrics that makes him relatable to fans.

Buddz's recorded music matches the unprecedented energy and vibe that he displays in his live performances — all done with an air of ease and confidence. Hybrid shows the maturity of his music and how that ease and self-confidence have propelled him as an artist, earning him the respect of fellow musicians demonstrated by his ability to draw in various artists to contribute to the album. Hybrid is a solid album from start to finish, one that you want to listen to over and over again. It's perfect for that summer vacation road trip to your favorite festival.

Collie Buddz has been hitting the tour scene hard since the release of Good Life, entertaining longtime fans and winning over new ones at the many reggae festivals around the country like Summer Jam, Reggae on the Rocks and the California Roots Festival. In addition to touring festivals, he has toured as an opening act for amazing bands such as Rebelution, Matisyahu and Zion I. Be sure to catch up with Collie Buddz this summer as he continues to entertain fans with songs from the new album, as well as fan favorites!

Purchase or stream Hybrid album:

Track listing:

  1. Bank, feat. B Young & Russ
  2. Love & Reggae
  3. Legal Now
  4. Bounce It, feat. Stonebwoy
  5. Show Love
  6. Callaloo, feat. Dizzy Wright
  7. The Feeling, feat. Johnny Cosmic
  8. Everything Blessed, feat. Tech N9ne
  9. Love is Life
  10. Time Flies, feat. Russ

Links: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Website

Source: https://topshelfreggae.com/reviews/collie-buddz-hybrid-album-review

Comments ( 0 )

    Leave A Comment

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *